You are using an unlicensed and unsupported version of Evoq Content. Please contact for information on how to obtain a valid license.

Commissioners Court

The Commissioners Court is the overall governing and management body of Williamson County. The Commissioners Court is responsible for all budgetary decisions and setting the tax rate each year. Among the duties of the Commissioners Court is administration of all the business of the County, including the building and maintenance of county roads and bridges.

Visit the Special Meetings and Agendas section for information about Commissioners Court meetings and agendas including procedures and public participation forms.  MAP of the County with the precinct boundaries outlined, showing which cities they serve (click here for more maps).


There are five members of the Commissioners Court. The County Judge presides as the chairman and is elected by all the voters in the county every four years. The four commissioners are elected by the voters within their precinct every four years. The members of the Williamson County Commissioners Court are:

County Judge - Honorable Dan A. Gattis

710 Main Street, Ste. 101
Georgetown, TX 78626
(512) 943-1550

Precinct 1 - Commissioner Terry Cook

1801 E. Old Settlers Boulevard #110
Round Rock, TX 78664
(512) 244-8610

Precinct 2 - Commissioner Cynthia Long

350 Discovery Blvd., Suite 201
Cedar Park, TX 78613
(512) 260-4280 

Precinct 3 - Commissioner Valerie Covey

3010 Williams Dr. Ste. 153
Georgetown, TX 78628
(512) 943-3370

Precinct 4 - Commissioner Larry Madsen

350 Exchange Boulevard, Suite 100
Hutto, TX 78634
(512) 846-1190


Commissioners Court Meetings and Agendas

Visit our Special Meetings and Agendas section for information about Commissioners Court meetings and agendas including procedures and public participation forms.

County Budget

The Commissioners Court is responsible for adopting the County budget and setting the tax rate. The County's fiscal year is Oct. 1st to Sept. 30th of each year. Each summer the Commissioners set the budget for the coming fiscal year. The County Budget Officer prepares a recommended budget for the court. A series of workshops are held in July for the County elected officials and department heads to review their recommended budget with the court. In addition, the court is required to hold a public hearing if the proposed tax rate will be increased more than 3%. The final budget is usually adopted by the end of August each year. The Commissioners Court also sets the tax rate at this time. Contact the County Budget Officer at (512) 943-1551 or e-mail us at with any questions about the budget process. 

County Budget Information


Commissioners Court Records

The Commissioners Court is a court of record and all minutes of proceedings are recording as permanent documents by the County Clerk. Commissioners Court minutes are available for public viewing in the County Clerk's office at the Justice Center during normal business hours or online 24 hours a day 7 days a week at Commissioners Court Minutes.


Duties of the Commissioners Court

The State of Texas sets the duties of the Commissioners Court. The general duties of Commissioners Court are as follows

  • establish a courthouse and jail
  • build roads and bridges
  • assure the safe-keeping of land and citizen records
  • let contracts in the name of the County
  • provide law enforcement through the County sheriff
  • administer the County's public welfare services
  • administer the County's public health services
  • perform numerous duties in regard to elections
  • operate County parks
  • appoint numerous officials
  • set the County tax rate
  • issue bonds
  • adopt the County budget
Appointments to the following organizations:
  • ESD Boards
  • Williamson County Child Welfare Board
  • CAPCOG Advisory Committee
  • Bail Bond Board
  • Williamson County Conservation Foundation Board
  • Williamson County Audit Committee
  • Williamson County Historical Commission

Williamson County Historical Commission Appointments

Williamson County currently has openings for membership in the Williamson County Historical Commission (WCHC).  The WCHC is designated to coordinate and supervise historic preservation under the direction of the Williamson County Commissioners Court. The purpose of the WCHC is to preserve, protect, and promote history within the county. The WCHC is composed of at least seven Williamson County residents who have demonstrated an interest in the preservation of Williamson County’s historical heritage and preferably live in Williamson County.  Members serve for two-year terms and meet no less than six times per year. The by-laws for the organization can be found here. Applications can be found here. Please send completed applications to your precinct commissioner. Addresses and phone numbers for commissioner’s offices can be found above.


Williamson County Courthouse
Williamson County Courthouse
Williamson County 
Commissioners Courtroom
710 Main Street
Georgetown, TX 78626
Phone: (512) 943-1100
Driving Directions

Williamson County Courthouse
710 Main Street Georgetown, TX 78626
Main Telephone: (512)943-1100
Copyright 2018 by Williamson County, Texas TS   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement  Sitemap